Wednesday, 14 January 2009

Lofi Hifi Service Pack volume 1

Right people - it's been a while since my last post - let's blame stilton, port and other festive sundries for that. But as it's a new year, let's kick off a new Lofi Hifi series, The Lofi Hifi Service Pack collection. The idea is to put together a handful of tracks that you need to have in your life right now. You might know most or none of them, but the idea is that you'll then have them all in one place, ready to play to a room of grateful punters, or to stick on in the car or gym, or to steal and make your own as a mixtape for that girl you met whilst trying on cardigans in Beyond Retro.
They won't be neccesarily new, or limited to one genre, though I'll no doubt play with themes in SPs to come. Yes this is basically a mixtape, but I've called it something else. Ok?

Without anymore jarring, digressed waffle, I present:

Lofi Hifi Service Pack Vol1

01 - Sebastian Tellier - Kilometer (Aeroplane 'Italo 84' Remix)
02 -
St. Francis - Love Love Love
03 - Daniel Johnston - Foolin'
04 - Poni Hoax - Hypercommunication (Alter Ego Remix)
05 - Armand Van Helden - Shake That Ass feat Team Facelift (Mowgli Remix)
06 - Daniel Haaksman - Who's Afraid Of Rio feat. MC Jennifer
07 - Phonat - Learn To Recycle
08 - Mark Stent - Waiting (The Bulgarian Mix)
09 - Mirror Mirror - New Horizons
10 - Player Player - Lonely
11 - Gentle Friendly - Ride Symbols
12 - Nite Jewel - What Did He
13 - Zombie Nation - Forza

Buy on itunes/amazon/beatport

Also, for those who like their music a bit deeper, have been enjoying this from Glaswegian Milton Jackson:

The video seems to be about a guy in a suit getting hit with a lot of things - from bottles to guitars. Interpret any way you will.
Musically this revolves around one great synth pattern, and has a lightness to it, keeping it on the right side of seedy, though still wouldn't be out of place at any early morning house affair. Not revolutionary, but Milton keep it simple, moving and appropriately delicate.

Also check much played biggie 'Ghosts In My Machines'

The 'Crash' EP is out Feb 09

Milton Jackson on Myspace


Check - enjoying very much:

No comments: